This is a reader favourite included by popular demand in my debut cookbook “Dinner”!

THE Apple Crumble recipe

This is The Apple Crumble recipe I’ve been making for years and years. Ever since my sister made an Apple Crumble by a well known celebrity chef for my birthday dinner (yes I’m weird, I seriously requested Apple Crumble instead of a birthday cake) and it was terribly disappointing. Crumbly topping to be sure, but it was awfully dry and the filling was watery. Not her fault, it was the recipe. She was not happy. Actually, she was rather grumpy. That was the moment when I decided I needed to create my own recipe. 🙂

Why use this Apple Crumble recipe?

There are tons and tons of Apple Crumble recipes out there. This recipe doesn’t have any ground breaking techniques or secret ingredients. But it works, tastes great and it makes an Apple Crumble that is everything it should be. Specifically:

  1. The apple filling is not dry or watery. It is made ever so slightly jammy / syrupy with the addition of flour mixed with the usual sugar (plus cinnamon for fragrance). Just a bit of flour really makes a difference; and
  2. The crumbly topping bakes up beautifully crisp but is not dry or doughy or overly sweet. It crumbles when you serve it – hence the name 😉 – but it doesn’t disintegrate, there are chunks that hold together. Think chunky muesli/granola – like that. But softer. 🙂

Best apples for Apple Crumble

I like to use Granny Smith apples because the sweet-tart palette appeals to me. If you prefer not to have tartness, then feel free to use sweet red apples. This recipe will also work for pears and even stone fruits like peaches. The smell when this is in the oven is just heavenly. The cinnamon, the apple, the buttery sweet goodness. And that moment when you crack through the nubbly golden topping and are greeted with the sight of golden syrupy, tender apples… It’s just a little bit of heaven, right there. Just one rule. Don’t forget the ice cream!!! 😇  – Nagi x

Apple CrumbleWatch how to make it

This recipe features in my debut cookbook Dinner. Mostly new recipes, but this is a reader favourite included by popular demand!

Love apple desserts?

Me too! See?

Life of Dozer

This is why I don’t need a compost!!!

Apple Crumble - 14Apple Crumble - 83Apple Crumble - 56Apple Crumble - 53Apple Crumble - 42Apple Crumble - 22Apple Crumble - 64Apple Crumble - 53