CHINESE CHICKEN SALAD – MY MOST MADE ASIAN SALAD!

This is my most made faux Asian salad. It’s “faux” because it’s in no way authentic Chinese and that’s totally ok. I love it anyway because it’s so delish, and it’s a good way to make me inhale large volumes of fresh greens.

THE ASIAN SALAD DRESSING

The Asian salad dressing I use in this salad is based on a recipe by David Chang of Momofuku. It’s made with all manner of Asiany ingredients – soy sauce, rice vinegar, sesame oil, garlic and ginger – but there’s plenty of flex here which I’ve jotted down in the recipe notes. I love the fresh hit of ginger and garlic in the dressing but I quite often make this salad using my standby simple Asian Sesame Dressing. Made with just soy sauce, sesame oil, vinegar, oil and sugar, it keeps for days, weeks even. It would be unusual if I didn’t have a jar of this lurking in the dark depths of my fridge at all times!

I think the thing that really seals the deal for me about this Chinese Chicken Salad are the crunchy noodles. I just use Chang’s Fried Noodles which are often on sale at the supermarket for around $1. Any brand will do – the thin ones I’ve used or even the wider ones. Just as long as they’re crunchy!! – Nagi x PS This is a terrific do-ahead meal. The chopped veggies stay fresh for days in the fridge – I’ve kept them for 5 days in an airtight container – and shredded chicken can be frozen. The only thing to add fresh is the ginger and garlic in the dressing.

MORE ASIAN SALADS

Asian Salmon Salad Vietnamese Lemongrass Chicken Noodle Bowls Chinese Chicken Salad with Peanut Dressing Thai Beef Salad Thai Chicken Salad Satay Chicken Noodle Salad

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

LIFE OF DOZER 

He wasn’t bothered by the burs. Unlike me. Prickly legs!!!

Chinese Chicken Salad - 91Chinese Chicken Salad - 66Chinese Chicken Salad - 89Chinese Chicken Salad - 24Chinese Chicken Salad - 99Chinese Chicken Salad - 70Chinese Chicken Salad - 14