This is a made from scratch chicken satay recipe, and there is every possibility you already have everything you need to make this. Similar to the Everyday Chicken Curry, the simplicity of the spices required will surprise you.

Chinese Satay Chicken Stir Fry

For years, I’ve been trying to extract restaurant secrets from my local Chinese restaurant. Each time I go, I weave a question innocently into the conversation, trying to pick up one more tip. Ask too many, or be too obvious, and they clam up and shake their heads. “No, no, no”, he’d say, shaking his head. So I paused, trying to think of a clever way to extract the secret of his Satay Sauce from him. “Err….How do you make your Satay Sauce?” I asked. Full marks for word smithing. I should have been a detective – brilliant, crafty questioning skills. But to my surprise, he actually answered. “We use Jimmy’s. But we change it!”, he said almost defensively, daring me to judge him for using a bottled sauce. “We add things. We make better!” “Oh! I know Jimmy’s! What do you add?” I asked. “No, no, no”, he said, clamming up. Bugger. I went too far.

Chinese Satay Sauce

The Chinese take out version of Chicken in Satay Sauce is quite different from Malaysian, Thai and Indonesian Satay Sauce. It’s less coconut-y and less peanut-y (are they real words??), doesn’t have bits of crushed peanuts in the sauce, and has a stronger flavour from satay seasoning. As my local Chinese takeout owner says, there is actually no such thing as satay in Chinese cuisine. But over the years the popularity of satay generally has evolved such that almost every neighbourhood Chinese restaurant here in Australia has x, y and z in Satay Sauce on the menu. The brand of Satay Sauce that my Chinese restaurant refers to as using as their sauce base is called Jimmy’s Sate Sauce. It’s sold in some Asian shops and even at some fresh produce stores, like Harris Farms (not at all stores). A Chinese friend of mine told me that it’s quite widely used in restaurants, but always with other ingredients added. However, because even I sometimes struggle to find Jimmy’s Sate Sauce, I decided to create a Chinese Satay Chicken Stir Fry made from scratch. It’s a homemade copycat and I’m the first to admit it’s not exactly the same. But it’s similar, and most importantly, it is a darn tasty satay sauce that’s easy to make with ingredients you’ll find at most supermarkets. Oh – and you know exactly what goes into it!

I like to use chicken thigh for stir fries because it’s juicier than breast and tenderloin. If I make this with chicken breast, I always tenderise it using a Chinese restaurant technique using baking soda (bi-carb). It’s super simple, see directions here: How to Velvet Chicken. This is a simple recipe that’s easy enough for midweek. No grinding peanuts, not even chopping up lemongrass (I use lemongrass paste, it works better for this recipe). In my more “serious” Chicken Satay Curry recipe, I insist on using both peanuts and fresh lemongrass. It has more steps and uses more equipment than this recipe and it is definitely worth the effort. But in my world, stir fries should be fast and easy to make. So I made this Chinese Satay Chicken Stir Fry straight forward. And if I do say so myself, it’s darn tasty! – Nagi x

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

Chinese Satay Chicken Stir Fry recipe video!

LIFE OF DOZER

I’m still travelling Japan and his boarder continues to report that  it seems Dozer’s not missing me at all….

SaveSave

Chinese Satay Chicken Stir Fry - 53Chinese Satay Chicken Stir Fry - 15Chinese Satay Chicken Stir Fry - 92Chinese Satay Chicken Stir Fry - 78Chinese Satay Chicken Stir Fry - 54Chinese Satay Chicken Stir Fry - 83Chinese Satay Chicken Stir Fry - 8